From the Desk of the President

New Chair – I am pleased to announce that Vivek Singh, M.D., has been appointed as the new chair for the Department of Psychiatry at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) El Paso Paul L. Foster School of Medicine (PLFSOM). He begins his new role on June 13. Dr. Singh is currently an associate professor of psychiatry and interim vice-chair for clinical affairs, medical director of University Hospital psychiatric services, director of the Psychiatric Consultation Liaison Service, and chairman of the Institutional Review Board at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSCSA). He is board certified in psychiatry and psychosomatic medicine by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and is a highly sought after national speaker on bipolar disorders. Read more about Dr. Singh in this week’s Tech View blog.

Outstanding Teacher – TTUHSC El Paso PLFSOM associate professors Harry “Pete” Davis, M.D., and Dale Quest, Ph.D., were chosen “Outstanding Teacher of the Year”. Third-year medical students selected Dr. Davis and first and second-year students chose Dr. Quest. This award is sponsored by the Student Senate and honors faculty members who possess enthusiasm for their subject matter, demonstrate an interest in learning, are patient and empathetic towards their students, use flexible teaching methods to accommodate different learning styles and believe teaching is an active process. Congratulations on such a special honor!

Mighty Mujer Triathlon – This Saturday, the Mighty Mujer Triathlon and the Texas Tech Physicians El Paso Athlete Expo takes place at Memorial Park beginning at 7:30 a.m. I want to wish our TTUHSC El Paso athletes a great race – and more importantly – a great time! If any of you are in need of workout motivation, cheering on our ‘Mighty Mujers’ might inspire your inner triathlete to train for next year’s race.