TTUHSC El Paso Faculty Begin New Terms in Texas Medical Association Leadership Positions

TTUHSC El Paso Faculty Begin New Terms in Texas Medical Association Leadership Positions

The Texas Medical Association recently appointed four Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso Foster School of Medicine faculty members to leadership positions. The TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, with more than 55,000 physician and medical student members.

TMA leaders are responsible for studying health care-related issues and making recommendations on health care policies affecting Texas patients and their physicians. 

The faculty physicians from TTUHSC El Paso’s Foster School of Medicine appointed to TMA leadership positions are: 

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics Lisa M. Ayoub-Rodriguez, M.D., FAAP. Dr. Ayoub-Rodriguez, a pediatrician in practice for 10 years, was reappointed to the TMA Committee on Child and Adolescent Health. The committee promotes policies to encourage the development of healthy youth, including those with disabilities. The committee liaisons with organizations concerned with health services for children and adolescents.

Professor of Pediatrics Gilberto A. Handal, M.D. Dr. Handal,aninfectious disease specialist in practice for 51 years, was reappointed as a consultant to the TMA Committee on Infectious Diseases. The committee educates the profession and public on the prevalence, detection, diagnosis and treatment of infectious diseases, including HIV, COVID-19, tuberculosis and sexually transmitted diseases. Dr. Handal also serves on the TMA’s Board of Councilors and Border Health Caucus.

Professor and Vice President for Outreach and Communication Jose Manuel de la Rosa, M.D. Dr. de la Rosa, amedical educator and administrator for over 33 years, was reappointed as a consultant to the TMA Council on Medical Education. The council coordinates TMA’s medical education activities, monitors state and federal legislation, studies the physician workforce, accredits continuing medical education activities, and monitors physician licensure and credentialing.

Professor and Chair of Surgery Alan H. Tyroch, M.D. Dr. Tyroch, a surgeon in practice for 24 years, was appointed as a consultant to the TMA Committee on Emergency Medical Services and Trauma. The committee works in the formulation, initiation and maintenance of community plans for emergency medical services leading to statewide coverage. The committee also educates physicians on providing medical care in disaster situations.

These faculty serve as specialty providers with Texas Tech Physicians of El Paso, the largest medical group practice in the region. They are also members of the El Paso Medical Society, a component organization of the TMA.

The TMA is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. The TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.

About TTUHSC El Paso

TTUHSC El Paso is the only health sciences center on the U.S.-Mexico border and serves 108 counties in West Texas that have been historically underserved and understudied. It is the fourth university under the Texas Tech University System and is comprised of four health professional schools: the Foster School of Medicine, Hunt School of Nursing, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and Hunt School of Dental Medicine. TTUHSC El Paso is one of only two health sciences centers designated as Title V Hispanic-Serving Institutions preparing the next generation of diverse health care heroes, with 50% of students identifying as Hispanic.