3rd Annual Neurology Conference – ‘Neurology for the Non-Neurologist’

3rd Annual Neurology Conference – ‘Neurology for the Non-Neurologist’

The Department of Neurology held its 3rd Annual Neurology conference Friday, May 27, 2016. The conference, titled “Neurology for the Non-Neurologist,” offered several presentations on current and developing practices in the field of neurology over a variety of subjects.

This year’s topics included cognitive impairment, myopathy, categories of headaches, seizures and Parkinson’s disease. Salvador Cruz-Flores, M.D., M.P.H., professor and founding chair of the Department of Neurology at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso (TTUHSC El Paso) Paul L. Foster School of Medicine (PLFSOM), began the conference with a presentation on the progress and growth the department has experienced over the last three years.

Like virtually all aspects of health care in the Paso del Norte region, neurology is a vastly underserved discipline. However, since Dr. Cruz-Flores’ arrival at TTUHSC El Paso in 2013, the Department of Neurology has grown from just two faculty members to 10. And beginning this July, the department will continue the second year of its residency program at the PLFSOM since its inception in 2015, the only neurology residency in the region.

See complete conference details.

Photos by Adam Dever.