Breast Cancer Research Awarded Seed Grant

Breast Cancer Research Awarded Seed Grant

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso (TTUHSC El Paso) Department of Internal Medicine recently announced the recipients of the 2016-17 Seed Research Award. Principal investigator Zeina Nahleh, M.D., and co-investigators Brad Bryan, Ph.D., M.B.A., and Karinn Chambers, M.D., were awarded almost $7,000 in funding for their innovative breast cancer research, “Effect of β-Blocker on Proliferation Markers in Patients with Breast Cancer.”

This is the sixth consecutive year that the Internal Medicine Research Committee (IMRC) has distributed seed awards. The program began six years ago as part of an initiative to support the innovative research ideas of internal medicine faculty in the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine (PLFSOM).

“Members of the IMRC believe in providing faculty opportunities to test their abilities, skills, perseverance and enthusiasm in research endeavors,” said Jerzy Sarosiek, M.D., Ph.D., chairman of the IMRC and vice chair for research in the Department of Internal Medicine. “IMRC members appreciate the strong leadership of the PLFSOM’s dean’s office for the growth of research on the El Paso campus; the school’s financial support; as well as encouragement to those of us who have chosen academic careers.”

Funding for the Seed Research Awards is secured by the PLFSOM’s dean’s office as a result of a new, indirect cost redistribution policy that benefits from the recent closure of successful clinical trials, research and training grants and contracts. Through this new redistribution, available funds support the school’s mission to equally promote and support research, teaching and clinical service.

As one of the primary sources for advancing research at TTUHSC El Paso, the seed awards not only make faculty research possible — they also help encourage faculty to pursue innovative research ideas in the first place. “The Seed Research Awards provide exceptional opportunities for our faculty to take their concepts and ideas to the next level,” Dr. Sarosiek said.

Since funding began in 2010, 22 faculty members from the Department of Internal Medicine have received funding.

Funding for the current seed research began September 1, 2016, and will continue through August 31, 2017.

Members of the IMRC are:

  • Jerzy Sarosiek, M.D., Ph.D., AGAF, FACG
    IMRC Chairman
    Doctor Honoris Causa
    Professor of Medicine and Vice Chair for Research
    Department of Internal Medicine
    Molecular Medicine Research Laboratory
  • Debabrata Mukherjee, M.D., M.S., FACC, FSVMB, FSCAI, FICA
    Professor and Chair
    Department of Internal Medicine
  • Diego de la Mora, M.D.
    Assistant Professor
    Division of General Medicine
    Department of Internal Medicine
  • Richard McCallum, M.D., FACP, FRACP (AUST), FACG
    Division of Gastroenterology
    Department of Internal Medicine
  • Zeina Nahleh, M.D., FACP
    Associate Professor
    Division of Hematology/Oncology
    Department of Internal Medicine
  • Irene Sarosiek, M.D., FACG
    Associate Professor
    Director of GI Motility
    Neurostimulation Research
    Department of Internal Medicine
  • Sean Connery, M.S.
    Director, Research Division
    Department of Internal Medicine