Faculty Council Officers Induction

Faculty Council Officers Induction

1New Faculty Council officers were inducted this week during the the Faculty Council meeting on Monday, September 15.

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) El Paso 4Founding President Richard Lange, M.D., MBA, thanked outgoing officers for their hard work and for orienting him to issues facing faculty upon his arrival. Hoi Ho, M.D., associate dean for Faculty Affairs & Development, acknowledged their contributions in helping the school achieve its full accreditation status.

Dr. Lange presented Susan Watts, Ph.D., associate professor of emergency medicine, with a plaque recognizing her service as 3president of the Faculty Council. She will now serve as immediate past president. Dr. Watts passed the gavel to Dale Quest, Ph.D., associate professor of medical education, the new Faculty Council president for 2014-2015. Juan Figueroa-Casas, M.D., associate professor of internal medicine, assumed the position of president-elect. Lorenzo Aragon, M.D., associate professor of family and community medicine, 2was recognized for his three years of service as an officer. He received a token of appreciation for completing his service as the immediate past president.
The officers will work closely with departmental Faculty Council representatives to address faculty
questions and issues.   Faculty members may contact the officers with any concerns or suggestions:

  • Faculty Council President Dale Quest, Ph.D., dale.quest@ttuhsc.edu
  • Faculty Council President-Elect Juan Figueroa-Casas, M.D., juan.figueroa@ttuhc.edu
  • Faculty Council Immediate Past President Susan Watts, Ph.D., susan.watts@ttuhsc.edu

All faculty members are invited to attend Faculty Council meetings which are held on the third Monday of each month at noon. For more information, contact Miranda Alvarez at (915)215-4132 miranda.alvarez@ttuhsc.edu.