Former Resident Elected President of National Emergency Physicians Society

Former Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso (TTUHSC El Paso) resident Rebecca Parker, M.D., FACEP, has been elected president of the American Collegeparker of Emergency Physicians (ACEP). The ACEP is a national organization for the advancement of emergency medicine, and includes chapters across the U.S., Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia.

Dr. Parker, an outspoken supporter of patient rights in the increasingly complex health insurance climate, plans to make fair payment and fair coverage for patients cornerstones of her agenda as president of the ACEP. “As president, I intend to do all I can to make sure that patients have access to emergency care when they need it,” she said.

In addition to advocating for patients in the insurance debate, Dr. Parker plans to bring more attention to diversity and inclusion in the field of emergency medicine. “To accomplish this,” she said, “I have created a task force on diversity and inclusion to strengthen emergency medicine and position it to meet the needs of our ever-changing society. We need to support our diverse physicians and our diverse patients to deliver the best care while [we] take care of each other.”

Dr. Parker was elected to the ACEP’s board of directors in 2009, and will serve as president for a one-year term.