Four TTUHSC El Paso Faculty Awarded Mini-Seed Grants

Four faculty members at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso (TTUHSC El Paso) have been awarded a total of $36,000 in mini-seed grants. Funded by the institution, these grants will allow the faculty to continue conducting their innovative research projects through the 2017-18 academic year.

The faculty, selected by the Office of the Vice President for Research, were chosen from a highly competitive group of applicants. The awardees and their corresponding projects are:

Amr Abdelgawad, M.D.

Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation

“Development of Functioning Prototype for Ankle Fusion Nail”

Amr Abdelgawad 1

Jorge Cervantes, M.D., Ph.D.

Department of Medical Education

“Human Macrophage Polarization in the Response to Mycobacterium Leprae DNA”

Cervantes, Jorge

Himanshu Garg, Ph.D

Center of Emphasis in Infectious Diseases

“Virus Like Particle (VLP) Platform for Flaviviruses”

Himanshu Garg 1

William M. Weiss, M.D.

Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation

“Transfer of Basic Arthroscopic Skills Between Simulation Tasks”

Weiss, WIlliam

Mini-seed grants provide up to $10,000 for researchers over a six-month period to bolster the last stages of a new project prior to applying for external grant support.

“Mini-seed grants are a new program that will function as a ‘quick strike’ award for nascent research that is on the cusp of being readied for competitive grant applications from national agencies,” explained Vice President for Research Peter Rotwein, M.D. “It provides another way for our university to invest in scholarship at TTUHSC El Paso by providing that last little bit of support to get a project into a competitive funding queue.”