GHHS Inducts its Class of 2017 at TTUHSC El Paso

GHHS Inducts its Class of 2017 at TTUHSC El Paso

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso (TTUHSC El Paso) Paul L. Foster School of Medicine (PLFSOM) doesn’t only teach its students scientific medical knowledge, it teaches total patient care. From its immersive clinical settings with standardized patients, to the free health fair events, and through the Texas Tech Physicians of El Paso’s clinical practice, students, residents, and faculty exude the term humanism.

The Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) recognizes those senior students, residents, and physician teachers who exemplify humanism in medicine and on April 8, 2016, the PLFSOM Chapter held an induction ceremony to welcome its newest members.

The GHHS is a society supported by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. The foundation began in 1988 and was created by pediatric neurologist Arnold Gold, M.D., in order to combat a rising trend in medicine at the time; physicians were not treating their patients, only treating illnesses. Dr. Gold’s goal was to ensure that humanism did not fall out of good practice in medicine. Today, the GHHS is 24,000 members strong with chapters at over 100 medical schools.

Humanism in medicine is an important skill for a physician to master. Compassion and empathy for a patient’s well-being has shone to produce lasting health benefits. Particularly, patients are more apt to follow a physician’s orders if the patient feels like they are being cared for on a personal level.

The following students were inducted for the Class of 2017: Sandra A. Aziz; Kent A. Carter; Jerry Fan; Eduardo Garcia; Matthew L. Kluckman; Emily K. Nes; Patrick W. O’Malley; Phillip P. Paul; Kate M. Petty; Nathaniel L. Rawicki; Kiran J. Sidhu; Jeremy W. Stewart; Loryn A. Wilson; Meredith K. Wittie; and Claire E. Zeorlin.

The following residents and faculty were also inducted for the Class of 2017: Sherief M. Mansi, M.D.; Ajay T. Reddy, M.D.; Mohammed A. Zebda, D.O.; Maria Theresa Villanos, M.D.; and Claudia Didia, M.D.