GSBS Announces New Dean and VP for Research

GSBS Announces New Dean and VP for Research

On April 1, 2016, Peter Rotwein, M.D., and Rajkumar Lakshmanaswamy, Ph.D., will both receive new appointments at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso (TTUHSC El Paso).

Peter RotweinDr. Rotwein has been appointed Vice President for Research. He is currently a tenured Professor and Chair in the Department of Biomedical Sciences, Associate Dean for Research at the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine (PLFSOM), and Assistant Vice President for Research at TTUHSC El Paso.

Dr. Rotwein is an accomplished researcher and recipient of numerous honors and awards. He has a distinguished career in the field of endocrinology and metabolism as well as extensive experience in administration, research, education, and clinical affairs. He earned a B.A. from Yale University and his medical degree from Albert Einstein College of Medicine.

With the transition of research administration and activities from Lubbock to El Paso, Dr. Rotwein will oversee all research areas. In his year and a half at TTUHSC El Paso, Dr. Rotwein has restructured the department and the Centers of Emphasis to be more efficient and productive.

Lakshmanaswamy has been appointed Dean for the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. He replaces the steadfast stewardship of Dr. Rotwein, who has served as Regional Dean of the GSBS since 2014. Lakshmanaswamy is currently a tenured Associate Professor of Biomedical Sciences at PLFSOM, and was recently promoted to Professor. He is also the Director of Basic Sciences Research for the Center of Emphasis in Cancer Research.

Rajkumar Lakshmanaswamy-2

Lakshmanaswamy received his doctoral degree from the University of Madras, Chennai, India. He was a postdoctoral fellow in the Cancer Research Laboratory at the University of California, Berkeley, California.

Lakshmanaswamy coordinated the efforts between our institution and TTUHSC in Lubbock and was responsible for submitting the application and documentation to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board that resulted in TTUHSC El Paso gaining independent status during the current academic year.

Congratulations to Drs. Rotwein and Lakshmanaswamy on behalf of the entire TTUHSC El Paso community.