GSBS Hosts Appointment Reception for new Dean and VP of Research

GSBS Hosts Appointment Reception for new Dean and VP of Research

To celebrate the appointments of Peter Rotwein, M.D., to Vice President of Research at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso (TTUHSC El Paso) and Rajkumar Lakshmanaswamy, Ph.D., to Dean of the TTUHSC El Paso Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, a reception was held in their honor April 6, 2016.

Dr. Rotwein is currently also a tenured Professor and Chair in the Department of Biomedical Sciences, and Associate Dean for Research at the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine (PLFSOM).

With the transition of research administration and activities from Lubbock to El Paso, Dr. Rotwein will oversee all research areas. In his year and a half at TTUHSC El Paso, Dr. Rotwein has restructured the department and the Centers of Emphasis to be more efficient and productive.

Lakshmanaswamy replaces the steadfast stewardship of Dr. Rotwein, who has served as Regional Dean of the GSBS since 2014. Lakshmanaswamy is currently also the Director of Basic Sciences Research for the Center of Emphasis in Cancer Research, and Professor of Biomedical Sciences at PLFSOM.

Lakshmanaswamy coordinated the efforts between our institution and TTUHSC in Lubbock and was responsible for submitting the application and documentation to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board that resulted in TTUHSC El Paso gaining independent status during the current academic year.

Photographs by Raul De La Cruz/TTUHSC El Paso.