Hunt Named to Texas Tech Foundation Board

Josh Hunt, executive vice president of Hunt Companies, Inc., is one of nine directors named to the Texas Tech Foundation Board of Directors.hunt_josh_b_1-31-13_37b9a09_1

“It is an honor to serve as a member of the Texas Tech Foundation Board,” Hunt said. “I look forward to representing the Texas Tech University System in our Borderplex region and promoting the exciting things happening here because of the health sciences center.”

Approved by the Texas Tech Foundation Board of Directors this summer, the incoming members were subsequently approved by the Texas Tech University System (TTU System) Board of Regents at its October meeting. The new directors will serve four-year terms ending August 31, 2020. Hunt began his four-year term at the board’s first meeting Nov. 4.

For more than 75 years, the Texas Tech Foundation has partnered with the TTU System to raise, manage and invest private gifts for the benefit of the system and its four universities. The nonprofit foundation is governed by a volunteer board of directors that meets quarterly to review the performance of investments and ensure that donors’ long-term interests are being served.

Hunt will be a member of the foundation that raises, manages and invests private gifts for the benefit of the TTU System, which includes Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso (TTUHSC El Paso).

“TTUHSC El Paso’s footprint is growing and the initiatives already started or planned for this region will allow us to garner additional positive support for the system across Texas and the rest of the country,” Hunt said.

Josh is the son of Gayle and Woody Hunt, the chairman and vice president of the Woody and Gayle Hunt Family Foundation. The private family foundation was established in 1987 to support not-for-profit organizations and initiatives that focus on the Paso del Norte region.

Through a generous donation from the foundation in 2010, the Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing (GGHSON) was established. Most recently, the foundation gifted TTUHSC El Paso $25 million to establish its fourth school, the Woody L. Hunt School of Dental Medicine (WLHSODM) — expected to enroll its inaugural class in 2020.

The nine new directors are:

  1. Chris Aulds, founder and partner of Pearl Energy Investments in Dallas
  2. Tim G. Culp, president of Desert Production Inc. in Midland, Texas
  3. Pat Hickman, chairman and CEO of Happy State Bank and Trust Company in Canyon, Texas
  4. Joshua Hunt, executive vice president of Hunt Companies Inc. in El Paso, Texas
  5. Michael F. Owen, M.D., physician with Covenant Medical Group in Lubbock, Texas
  6. Jack Rentz, founder and chairman of Rentech Boiler Systems in Abilene, Texas
  7. Donald R. Sinclair, president and CEO of Western Gas Partners in Houston
  8. Ben Stribling, owner and president of Stribling Co. in San Angelo, Texas
  9. Robert Taylor Jr., president of The United Family in Lubbock, Texas