Paul L. Foster School of Medicine Welcomes Class of 2020

Paul L. Foster School of Medicine Welcomes Class of 2020

On June 29, the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso (TTUHSC El Paso) Paul L. Foster School of Medicine (PLFSOM) welcomed 108 first-year medical students. The incoming students heard a message by Richard Lange, M.D., M.B.A, president of TTUHSC El Paso and dean of the PLFSOM, who highlighted the school’s objective of preparing its graduates to become competent and caring physicians.

The three-day orientation also included the annual scrubs party hosted by the Office of Alumni Relations — a tradition whereby each student entering medical school is provided with his/her first set of medical scrubs — and a catered dinner from Famous Dave’s barbeque.

Over the 2015-16 admissions season, the PLFSOM received more than 4,000 applications. Of those, 510 were interviewed for a spot among the eighth entering class. Manuel Schydlower, M.D., associate dean for admissions, noted that the students accepted for admission have very competitive credentials, complemented by the right personal attributes and potential to become excellent doctors.

All but three of the incoming students are Texas residents, and 29 hail from El Paso.  This should bode well for the state of Texas as statistically, doctors are more apt to practice where they attended medical school.

Some of the universities represented by the new students include the University of Texas (El Paso, Austin, San Antonio, Dallas, Arlington, Tyler), Texas Tech, Angelo State, Texas A&M (College Station, Prairie View, Corpus Christie, International), Brigham Young University, University of Houston, Baylor, Austin College, Rice, Texas Women’s, Southern Methodist, Southwestern, St. Mary’s, University of North Texas, Sam Houston State, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Oklahoma-Norman, Pennsylvania, University of New Mexico, Arizona State, Notre Dame, Boston University, Yale, Barnard College, McGill, Purdue and South Florida, among others. The class of 2020 begins its medical studies July 5, and will be formally inducted into the medical field with a traditional white coat ceremony at the Plaza Theatre July 16.

Photos by Warren Love, Office of Institutional Advancement.