PLFSOM Members Inducted into Prestigious Medical Honor Society

PLFSOM Members Inducted into Prestigious Medical Honor Society

Sixteen students, two faculty members, and three residents from the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine were recently inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) medical society. The AOA is a prestigious and highly exclusive national honor society for medical students, residents, scientists, and physicians; only the top 25 percent, or one-sixth of each class, is eligible for nomination in the third year of medical school.

Founded in 1902, the goal of the AOA is to recognize and foster excellence in the medical profession. Selection criteria include not only grades, but also the society’s core values: professionalism, leadership skills, teaching, community service, research, and scholarly activity. Student nominees are selected for their potential to become effective leaders in the field of medicine.

Faculty members and residents are nominated by students based on their dedication to the profession and the art of healing. This year’s PLFSOM faculty and resident inductees have demonstrated gifted teaching, scholarly achievements, professional contributions, and exemplary values.

The PLFSOM’s 2017 AOA inductees are as follows:


Student Inductees


Eduardo Garcia, Khanh Doan Hoang, Bethany Eldridge, Matthew Kluckman, Samara Lewis, Laura Palmer, Megan Parmer, Kelly Phan, Nathaniel Rawicki, Gabe Scott, Derek Sears, Kiran Sidhu, Caleb Smith, Loryn Wilson, Scott Woolf, and Ryan Wyatt.


Faculty Inductees


Stacey Milan, M.D., FACS

Department of Surgery


Lynn Hernan, M.D.

Department of Pediatrics


Resident Inductees


Shelby Apodaca, M.D.

Obstetrics and Gynecology


Laura Gutierrez, M.D.

Obstetrics and Gynecology


Neel Shah, M.D.

Internal Medicine


Photos by Rita Martinez, Student Affairs

DSCF4663 DSCF4742 DSCF4679 (1) DSCF4665 (1) DSCF4680 DSCF4666 DSCF4670 (1) DSCF4669 (1) DSCF4683 DSCF4678 (1) DSCF4684 DSCF4687 DSCF4690 DSCF4689 DSCF4691 DSCF4697 DSCF4743 DSCF4744 DSCF4752 DSCF4754