Psychiatry Faculty Named LEAD Fellows

Psychiatry Faculty Named LEAD Fellows

Two faculty members in the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso (TTUHSC El Paso) Department of Psychiatry have been designated Leadership Education and Development (LEAD) Fellows by the Southern Group on Education Affairs (SGEA). Only 15 fellows were selected from a nationwide pool of applicants.

The TTUHSC El Paso fellows are Associate Professor of Psychiatry Ricardo Salazar, M.D., and Assistant Professor of Psychiatry Silvina Tonarelli, M.D.

The LEAD Certificate Program is an intensive, yearlong leadership development program for mid-career medical faculty. Fellows gain the knowledge, skills, values, and practical experience necessary to thrive as successful leaders in academic medicine.

For the next year, Dr. Salazar and Dr. Tonarelli will participate in workshops, video conferences, independent learning activities, and mentor meetings to bolster their leadership skills.

The LEAD Certification Program is part of an Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) initiative to create educational leaders in academic medicine.

Ricardo Salazar 2Sylvinia Tonarelli 002