The Pathology Honor Society Welcomes Two Paul L. Foster School of Medicine Students

The Pathology Honor Society is governed by the Intersociety Council for Pathology Information (ICPI) and the Association of Pathology Chairs (APC). The ICPI formed in 1957 when a group of various pathology societies came together and formed a unified organization that recognized the individual disciplines of pathology, but ultimately forwarded the importance of pathology in medicine as a whole. The honor societies are facilitated by the faculty members at medical schools across the country and students are selected through faculty recommendation.

The students chosen for induction into the Pathology Honor Society exhibit numerous outstanding characteristics that include, scholastic achievements, research accomplishments, leadership, and overall excellence. Jean Paek and Claire Zeorlin, both third-year students at the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine (PLFSOM), were honored as inductees for 2016 at a recent induction ceremony.

Assistant PLFSOM professors with the Department of Medical Education, Osvaldo Padilla, M.D., and Ellen Dudrey, M.D., presented the awards. The induction ceremony featured guest speaker Benjamin Ramos, M.D., a third-year pathology resident at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, New Mexico, and alumnus of the PLFSOM class of 2013. Also, five 2015 inductees of the Pathology Honor Society, all members of the PLFSOM class of 2016, were recognized for matching into pathology training programs this year: James Gaulding, Vanderbilt University Medical Center; Mark Girton, University of Virginia; Astin Powers, National Institute of Health; Cynthia Reyes-Barron, University of Rochester/Strong Memorial; and Jacob Smith, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center.