TTUHSC at El Paso Seed Grant Recipients

TTUHSC at El Paso Seed Grant Recipients

The Office of the Associate Dean for Research recently announced the 2014 TTUHSC at El Paso Seed Grant recipients. The funding they receive will help to further research, collaborations, and the health of our community.

The 15 award recipients and research titles are:

  • Michael Escamilla, M.D.

Neuroimaging biomarkers for bipolar disorder youth at risk

  • Laxman Gangwani, Ph.D.

Testing of JNK3 Inhibitors to rescue spinal muscular atrophy

  • Robert Gonzalez, M.D.

The relationship between sleep disturbance and cognitive functioning in bipolar disorder

  • Anjali Joshi, Ph.D.

HIV-1 Evolution under different CCR5 selection pressures

  • Melissa Mendez, M.D.

Effects of social media intervention to improve return visit rates following abnormal pap smears among Hispanics on the US/Mexico border

  • Teodoro Montoya, M.D.

Impact of cultural views on pelvic floor disorders among US/Mexico border Spanish-speaking Latinas

  • Ghulam Murtaza, M.D.

Psychosocial aspects of pregnancy and birth outcomes: A binational pilot study

  • Olivera Nesic-Taylor, Ph.D.

The cancer drug tamoxifen as a treatment for demyelinating diseases

  • Victor Olivas, M.D.

Decision aids and CRC screening along the US-Mexico border

  • Ruth Perez, Ph.D.

Novel strategies for neuroprotection

  • Luis Raul Ramos-Duran, M.D.

Neuroimaging biomarkers in traumatic brain injury

  • Sireesha Reddy, M.D.

Studying the impact of exercise on hot flashes using mobile heat flux sensor, MENQOL scale and hot flash diary

  • Lewis Rubin, M.D.

Whole exome sequencing of neurodevelopmental disorders: a step toward personalized medicine

  • Haoquan Wu, Ph.D.

Multiplexing miRNA-based shRNAs to suppress HIV infection

  • Mingtao Zeng, Ph.D.

New therapeutic strategy against prostate cancer