TTUHSC El Paso Successfully Concludes Institutional, Programmatic Accreditation Cycles

TTUHSC El Paso Successfully Concludes Institutional, Programmatic Accreditation Cycles

In June, TTUHSC El Paso achieved one of its most important milestones in its five-year history as a stand-alone university: institutional accreditation by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

As a result of a years-long application process involving a detailed self-assessment and a SACSCOC site visit, the committee granted TTUHSC El Paso separate institutional accreditation for a five-year term. In addition, the SACSCOC Accreditation Committee commended TTUHSC El Paso for its “culture of excellence.” Prior to its separate SACSCOC accreditation, TTUHSC El Paso had been covered as an affiliate of TTUHSC.

“Receiving commendation from SACSCOC speaks not only to the rigor of our programs, caliber of our resources, and strength of our organization, but also to the excellence of our people,” said TTUHSC El Paso President Richard Lange, MD, MBA. “We could not have done this without our tremendous students, faculty and staff.”

As the accrediting body for institutions of higher education across the Southern U.S., SACSCOC affirms that its accredited institutions have “a purpose appropriate to higher education and… resources, programs, and services sufficient to accomplish and sustain that purpose.” In addition to setting high standards for programs of higher education—which determines eligibility for Title IV, or federal financial aid funds—the commission also works to influence legislation that impacts the work of its member institutions.

“SACSCOC accreditation empowers TTUHSC El Paso to continue to focus its efforts on the Paso del Norte region, with essential health care preparation programs in medicine, nursing, graduate biomedical sciences and dental education,” said Valerie Paton, PhD, TTUHSC El Paso senior vice provost. “These programs and their graduates have an unparalleled and positive impact on the health and future of our region.”

As part of the self-assessment process, TTUHSC El Paso had to address its capability to meet more than 60 SACSCOC standards. These standards covered the institutional mission, governance and administration, institutional effectiveness, educational programs, student support services, and physical and financial resources, among others.

TTUHSC El Paso’s SACSCOC accreditation went into effect June 14, 2018.

Also this year, the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine’s Doctor of Medicine and the Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing’s Bachelor of Science in Nursing programs were accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education and the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, respectively. The LCME and CCNE are autonomous accrediting agencies that set standards for medical and nursing programs nationwide.

The PLFSOM’s new accreditation period will last through 2026. The GGHSON’s is effective through 2027.